jejt / jmons

Engineering Tommorrow

Arduino Noise Maker


I’m so sorry that this blog does seem to be jumping around quite a bit at the moment – one moment its RFID / NFC reading and writing, the second its serial to eithernet connections, and the third its … digital synthesizers? And unfortunatly, this post will be soon followed by a post about IRC robots, when will the random jumble of stuff come together? Soon! Sooon I say SOOOON!

Basically David Reynolds and myself have been working on a Digital Synth on the Arduino board, and been set back by being unable to get components from local shops blah blah etc etc. But finally, tonight, we have had success in building a semi-clone of the Arduino Noise Maker, and this is where I post my Vimeo Video.

Before I do, I need to first apologise to anyone reading this on Advogato – last time I posted a Vimeo video, Advogato went mental and merged my post with the person who posted immediatly before (i.e. the post immediatly below mine). The RSS feed that wordpress generates does seem to be sane and ok, so it makes me wonder if its and Advogato RSS eating/spittingout bug?

First running complete circuit – similar to that of Little – scale on Blog Spot. I should also mention that the film was filmed by Dave on a camera phone, so apologies for the sound and video quality. I think you can also hear the Wii Brain Teaser in the back ground.

This is actually the second version because we had massive problems sourcing the components needed, and we tried using a second Arduino board to clone the missing chips.

In this one however, the main noise is being outputted to the Breadboard via 6 lines into a 6 bit R2R DAC. The schmitt triggers are mounted on a nuelectronics arduino board, which controls the vibrato and the wave selector units. The two extra pots on the breadboard are the pitch and speed selection pots.

Stay tuned for more – next version promises to have some midi integration!

Info:
* R2R info: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Resistor_Ladder
* Original Design: little-scale.blogspot.com/2008/01/arduino-noise-maker-info.html

5 responses to “Arduino Noise Maker

  1. tony October 16, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Hi my name it’s antonio from milano italy
    I’m also trying to getting work the arduino noise maker.
    I’ve found some problem with analog imput, the port 0 and 1 it’s working but port from 2 to 5 is not working?
    I’ve control all and I can’t find a solution!
    Have you found a similar problem?
    thanks for the help:)

  2. jejt October 16, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Tony:
    I can’t say that I have – I know you can do some weird stuff with the Analog ports, for instance you can turn on I2C on port 4, which would bugger up your readings.

    I was actually using port 4 for my analog input ( please see http://jejt.wordpress.com/2008/08/28/arduino-as-digital-filter-hopes-downed-and-then-revived/ ).

    Do you have a link to your source code?

    Best Regards

    JT.

  3. tony October 16, 2008 at 11:58 am

    Hi thx for the fast replay
    I’m using the little scale code as is.
    I’ve try to cange the analogread port but only port 0 and 1 works all the other port seems to not work, it’s strange?
    Only the vibrato and wave pot works, the pitch on port 2 dosen’t, but if I put pitch pot on port 1 works.

  4. jejt October 16, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Hi, sorry i misunderstood you the first time.

    What values are you using for R32 and R33 in the diagram http://bp1.blogger.com/_5s0kNc3eu14/R45UBNE9zEI/AAAAAAAACOA/Asm-WYY1wYw/s1600-h/picture_38.jpg

    ?

    I think we decided that the values where “too high” and used smaller values then where documented – I would have to check late with Dave when I get home.

  5. tony October 17, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    hi for the 2 pot r32 r33 I’m using a 10k pot.
    Have you made some modification to the little scale code?
    thx
    ciao

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

